Online courses

Sustainable Solutions for Circular Bio-based World, 5 ECTS ​​

 

Time: 27.9.-8.10.2021

Bioeconomy sector is growing rapidly. ​The purpose is to reduce dependence on fossil resources.​ Transition to bioeconomy needs knowledge of available possibilities and ability to create new innovations. This course is created to give answers to these challenges.

Course is aimed at international undergraduate, master and Ph.D. students and young postdoc researchers, practitioners and professionals from industry or public sector.

After the course:
The student will understand the concepts of forest bioeconomy and circularity.
The student will learn topical issues of bioeconomy both in Chile and Finland.
The student will receive comprehensive overview of environmentally friendly bioeconomy solutions and are able to apply their knowledge to solve problems related to bioeconomy sector.

Registration​: deadline for registration is 21.9.2021!
The enrolment for studies is done online with the application form which can be found at the following link:​ https://events.savonia.fi/event/xGVkG
Participation is limited to 42 students. From 42 places 21 places is booked for the students from organizing universities. Registered will be informed of acceptance to the course on 24.9. latest.

Fee​
There is no fee.

Academic recognition​
The course is equivalent of 5 ECTS​.

Location​
The course will be held online. Platforms will be Zoom and Moodle.

Schedule of the course

1st week 27.9.-1.10.2021, ​2nd week 4.10.-8.10.2021​. Timing of lectures at 8-12 am UTC -4 and 2-8 pm UTC +3 (EEST).

Course programme is under the development and the detailed programme will be shown late August.

Organizers and contact persons:

University of Eastern Finland, Piritta Torssonen, piritta.torssonen(at)uef.fi​
Savonia University of Applied Sciences​, Markku Huhtinen, markku.huhtinen(at)savonia.fi
Karelia University of Applied Sciences​, Sini Rantanen, sini.rantanen(at)karelia.fi
Universidad Católica del Maule of Chile​, Rodrigo Morales-Vera, rmorales(at)ucm.cl
Universidad de Talca​, Lisbet Yanez Stegmaier, lyanez(at)utalca.cl
Universidad Austral de Chile​, Lisandro Roco F., lisandro.roco(at)uach.cl
Universidad de Concepción, Rosa María Alzamora, ralzamora(at)udec.cl
European Sustainable Energy Innovation Alliance (Eseai)

 

European Union, European Social Fund -logotype
Leverage from the EU -logotype
Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment -logotype.
Ministry of Education and Culture -logotype.